October 07, 2014

50 Civil Society Representatives Selected for UN Climate Summit (including Beyond Copenhagen member CECOEDECON)

At the request of the UN Secretary-General’s Climate Change Support Team, UN-NGLS issued an open call for nominations of civil society speakers and attendees for the 2014 UN Climate Summit, with a deadline of 15 August. UN-NGLS received 544 nominations, which can be viewed here (multiple submissions for the same person were consolidated into one entry). Between 16-25 August, UN-NGLS facilitated a civil society Selection and Drafting Committee to review all nominees. A list of the members of the Committee is available here.

The Committee short-listed 76 candidates for consideration by the Secretary-General’s Climate Change Support Team (CCST). From this list of 76 candidates, the CCST initially selected the following 4 speakers and 34 attendees for the Climate Summit:
Speaker for the opening ceremony:
Kathy Jetnil-Kijiner - College of the Marshall Islands and Jo-Jikum - Marshall Islands .
3 panellists for the Thematic Debate "Voices from the front lines of climate change" (organized by UNICEF, UN Women and UNFPA):
Alina Saba - Mugal Indigenous Women’s Upliftment Institute / Asia Pacific Forum on Women, Law and Development - Nepal
Christina Ora - Pacific Youth Council - Solomon Islands
Sylvia Atugonza Kapello - Riamiriam Civil Soceity Network Karamoja - Uganda .
34 attendees (in alphabetical order by first name):
Agnes Kinaka - Carterets Catholic Parish/Leitana Nehan Women’s Development Agency (LNWDA)/Asia Pacific Forum on Women, Law and Development - Papua New Guinea
Alexandra Vanessa D. Pierre - PLURIELLES - Haiti
Arthur Mychal Johnson - South Bronx Unite - USA
Assia Korichi - Friends of the Environment Association "Ahbab EL Biaa" - Algeria
Bianca Hakena Carwinn - Leitana Nehan Women’s Development Agency/ Asia Pacific Forum on Women, Law and Development - Papua New Guinea
Carlos Bernabe Chex Mux - Asociación Ak’ Tenamit - Guatemala
Caroline Usikpedo - Niger Delta Women’s movement for Peace and Development (NDWPD) - Nigeria
Catherine de Medici Jaffee - 350.org - USA
Daniel Temesgen Gelan - Pastoralist forum Ethiopia - Ethiopia
Diana Eurydyka Maciąga - Pracownia na rzecz Wszystkich Istot (Association Workshop for All Beings) - Poland
Emad Adly - Arab Network for Environment and Development (RAED) - Egypt
Erika Pires Ramos - RESAMA - South American Network for Environmental Migrations - Brazil
Fadoua Brour - Arab Youth Climate Movement & Women’s Earth and Climate Action Network - Morocco
Farah Kabir - ActionAid Bangladesh - Bangladesh
Gladys Lorena Terrazas Arnez - Network Peace Integration and Development - Bolivia
Jatani Sora Liban - Gayo Pastoral Development Initiative (GPDI) - Ethiopia
Kandi Lea Marie Mossett - Indigenous Environmental Network - USA / Mandan, Hidatsa, Arikara tribal nation
Kanyinke Sena - Indigenous Peoples of Africa Coordinating Committee (IPACC) - Kenya
Kathryn Kay Leuch - Philippine Movement for Climate Justice Phillippines
Linda Onyenya Wamune - SolarAid - Kenya
Margaret Hiza - Indian Nations Conservation Alliance - USA / Crow Tribe
Maria Theresa Nera-Lauron - IBON International - Phillippines
Melissa Ann Daniels - Native Women’s Association of Canada - Canada / Athebasca Chipewa
Mohamed Adow Iman - Christian Aid - Kenya
Osver Jaime Polo Carrasco - Iniciativa Construyendo Puentes - Peru
Relinda Melania Sosa Perez - National Confederation of Women Organized for Life and Integrated Development (CONAMOVIDI) / GROOTS Peru - Peru
Saleemul Huq - International Institute for Environment and Development - Bangladesh
Sandra Leticia Guzman Luna - Grupo de Financiamiento Climático para América Latina y el Caribe (GFLAC) - Mexico
Sara Suwan - Heinrich Boell Foundation Palestine and Jordan - Palestine
Sharad Joshi - Centre for Community Economics and Development Consultants Society (CECOEDECON); Public Advocacy Initiatives for Rights and Values in India (PAIRVI) - India
Sheng Ying - Shanghai Tongji Urban Planning & Design Institute - China
Tshiwe Shiri - Zimbabwe chapter of the Rural Women’s Assembly (RWA) - Zimbabwe
Ursula Regina Rakova Tulele Peisa - Papua New Guinea
Xinxin Bi - China Association for NGO Cooperation - China
Later on, it became possible to extend invitations to the remaining 12 candidates of the 76 who indicated they did not require travel support:
Alix Anne Sophie Mazounie - Réseau Action Climat
Bridget Burns - Women’s Environment and Development Organization
Caroline Dodd - Plan International
Colombe Akiwacu - Miss Rwanda 2014 / Rwanda Youth Alliance for Climate Actions (RYACA)
Irene Marie Bedard Wilson - American Indian Enterprise and Business Council
Liane Iris Schalatek - Heinrich Boell Foundation North America
Meagan Fallone - Barefoot College
Ria Voorhaar - Climate Action Network
Sabine Minninger - Bread for the World
Selma Chirouf Saidia - GEN International
Sönke Kreft - Germanwatch
Vitumbiko Chinoko - ACT Alliance

Source: http://www.un-ngls.org/spip.php?article4492


Post a Comment