December 08, 2009

Delegation of the Collective arrives CPH

Day 1 : Delegation of the Collective at COP15

At the Bella Centre, Copenhagen, it would not be out of place to feel being part of a mammoth international carnival. With a capacity of hosting 15,000 people, the convention centre has been overwhelmed by around 34,000 participants having applied for accreditation to the 15th meeting of the Conference of Parties (COP 15) of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC). This is by far the biggest meeting on this issue, attended by 192 countries, that is affecting billions worldwide. The media too has turned up in such overwhelming numbers that their accreditation was suspended after reaching the figure of 5,000 on the opening day yesterday!

A Delegation of 19 representatives from a wide spectrum of activities and skills has been registered at COP15, Copenhagen. The delegation includes policy makers, media representatives, scientists, lobbyists, and representatives from the communities affected directly. The delegation is led by Mr Sharad Joshi (CECOEDECON), Mr Vijay Pratap (SADED) and Mr Ajay K Jha (PAIRVI). Other members of the delegation includes: Mr. Chandra Shekhar Sahu (Minister of Agriculture, Labour, Fisheries, Animal Husbandry, Government of Chhattisgarh), Mr. Soumya Dutta (Bharat Jan Vigyan Jattha), Mr Anil Dave (Member of Parliament), Mr Pana Chand Jain (Retd. Justice, High Court of Rajasthan), Mr. Prakash Chhangani (HYDROLOGIST and alternative energy expert from CECOEDECON), Mr Om Thanvi (Senior Editor, Jansatta), Mr. Bharat Bhushan (PANI), Mr. Bhaskar Goswami (Forum for Food and Biotechonogy), Ms. Alka Awasthi (CECOEDECON), Mr. Tej Singh Bhandari (UDI), Mr. Bhagirath Mal (Farmer from Rajasthan), Mr. Puran Singh Ranwa (Farmer from Rajasthan), Mr. Nikhil Agrawal (CDM Consultant), Mr. Nalinikant (MANAVI), Mr. Vivekanand Pandey (CECOEDECON), Mr. Vinod Koshti (PAIRVI).


Post a Comment